gaudy.

It's the new black.

What We’re Reading

National Media Museum

“Reading is the creative center of a writer’s life,” says Stephen King in On Writing. Here at Gaudy, we celebrate the reader and the writer and that means celebrating reading twice. I think. I don’t bother much about numbers.

In print

Drown by Junot Diaz: Diaz is the Faulkner of our time; “of our time” in that he doesn’t write about poor Southern farmers and Faulkner didn’t wear Converses. Drown is tragic perfection in a dozen or so delicate and destructive short stories.

Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer: I took away the following observations. #1: Mark Gatiss totally read this when he was writing “Hound of the Baskervilles” (Sherlock S02E02). #2: Does Joshua Foer need a protegee? #3: The combination of medieval knowledge with modern practice makes for a nerdy happy dance, but one I’m happy to perform.

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway: Unlike my fellow editor who has most of Hemingway, Joyce, and Faulkner memorized, I am not so good with my modern writers. In an effort to “fill my gaps,” I steeled my 17th-century-loving-heart and prepared for Ernest’s worst. And found Sun to contain desperate wonder. And now I would like some more Hemingway, please.

On the web

“Stop Talking Balderdash: And Other Cool Words We Don’t Use Anymore”: OldVogue takes a look at some delightful abandoned words in need of resurrection.

 “A Poet By Any Other Name”: I love it when Slate goes poetic. National treasure Robert Pinsky muses on the role of the speaker in Jonson’s ode to his son, introducing an old argument (T.S. Eliot and Cleanth Brooks spring to mind) in gentle, contemporary tones.

“Why Our Elites Stink”: I’m a Brooksian addict, and found David’s discussion of elite ethos fascinating and accurate. This is not an anomaly, however, given that I find almost everything he says fascinating and accurate. Why won’t he answer any of my emails? – Gabrielle

That’s me. What are you reading, online or in print?

One comment on “What We’re Reading

  1. Urban Mommy
    July 21, 2012

    Yo! Loved Stephen King’s On Writing. Happy to know about your blog!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

The Gaudy Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

